Gallery

Shannon Culpepper – The Bragging Rights of an Angel

            Friday afternoon. Almost the end of the work week for most people. Just another regular day for many. However, for Shannon Culpepper, one of the prized Sambo Angels at FusBoxe MMA, today is the end of a long fight camp and the beginning of the arduous task of the final weight cut as she prepares for her Ring of Fire debut this Saturday, August 20th, 2011 at the 1st Bank Center in Broomfield, Colorado. Culpepper will be facing off against opponent Lindsay “The Amazon Barbie” Jones, from Jackson’s MMA in Albuquerque, New Mexico.

            Culpepper with an MMA record of 1-0, is coming off her March 12th, 2011 first round win against Margaret Bloom for Kick Down Promotions. “It happened so fast!” Culpepper recounts when asked how she felt after her first fight. While she had been a long time fan of MMA, it was not until her husband, and fellow FusBoxe fighter, Garrett Culpepper began training that Culpepper felt any desire to try MMA herself. With a prior athletic history of track and field in high school and college, Culpepper had been out of the competitive scene but staying in shape independently with lifting and running until she and her husband both found FusBoxe. “My win against Bloom made me realize that this is definitely something I want to continue doing, and it brought back that competitive spark in me and that high of winning.”

            With that competitive edge re-sharpened, Culpepper shared her thoughts on her upcoming fight. “I am extremely grateful and excited for my opportunity to fight on Ring of Fire. I feel like I have grown a lot in this fight camp. I expect to have a much tighter, more technical fight this time.” Knowing her opponent has spent a few more years training than she has does not seem to intimidate Culpepper at all. “None of that matters. I feel great going into this fight and am ready to display my strengths.”

            Finding opponents is something many female fighters have a difficult time with.  Culpepper, being a seven-time gold medalist and first in the Nation at No-Gi grappling, struggled to find an opponent for her MMA debut and since then has had several fights fall through until her opportunity with Ring of Fire presented itself. Staying motivated to train through these ups and downs can be difficult. “I am motivated by wanting to become the very best I can possibly be. I have very high expectations of myself and do not want to feel like I have failed. Even in training, I don’t like to walk away knowing I could have done more.” The challenges that have been presented to Culpepper throughout her training have seemed to only make her more determined to succeed in the martial arts. “I want to continue to advance my training. I also want to compete at the highest level that my ability and training will take me.”

            While MMAi s an independent sport, it takes a team to build a strong fighter. Culpepper would like to thank her coaches, Michael Sullivan and Vic Brabo of FusBoxe MMA, as well Rick Lopez from Strictly Boxing for his help with the final hand tune up. “Also my husband, Garrett Culpepper, for dedicating a lot to me during this camp.” Culpepper would also like to thank fellow Sambo Angels Raquel Pennington and Maureen Riordon, as well as teammate Christy Meredith for the tough grappling. The entire FusBoxe team has her appreciation for supporting her and always being willing and ready to assist in her camps.

One comment on “Shannon Culpepper – The Bragging Rights of an Angel

Leave a comment